Laurie’s Sexy Green Smoothie

Every active person has their go-to smoothie recipe. Well, this is mine!

The most important component of the smoothie is garlic. People who know me, know that I worship garlic. Whether raw or cooked, this little herb is the best thing in the world. I love its spicy, pungent taste. Since garlic is native to Asia, it is very prevalent in Southeast Asian cuisine  so my mother used it very often in her cooking. We usually had fresh garlic since my mother grew it in the backyard. Mmm, so delicious! But it was only a few years ago when I became interested in the medicinal properties of plants that I discovered that garlic has been used as medicine for thousands of years! There have been studies on its effect on the heart and blood, cancers, skin rashes and infections, just to name a few. I like to say, a clove a day keeps the doctor away!

The second most important ingredient are chia seeds! This tiny superfood packs a punch! Filled with fiber, omega-3s, calcium, protein and lots of other goodies, there isn’t a reason why these little babies aren’t in your morning smoothie. They help with digestion and can help with your overall mood and sleep patterns. I also like the texture they add to your smoothie. It’s almost like a “natural” type of boba! :D

Dark leafy greens are good for you because they are packed with fiber, folate, potassium, protein, calcium, and lots of other vitamins and minerals essential to your health. I like to switch up between spinach and kale in my smoothies. These morning smoothies make me getting my daily servings of fruits and vegetables very easy! I will also add fresh seasonal fruits that I have on hand so have fun with it and get healthy!

Laurie's Sexy Smoothie

Laurie’s Sexy Green Smoothie

Ingredients:
Handful of spinach
5 frozen strawberries
1 banana
2 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tbsp raw honey
1 clove of garlic
water

Equipment:
Magic Bullet or blender
Spoon

Directions:

1. If you have a blender, you can just toss all the ingredients into the pitcher and blend until you’ve got the right consistency. I would use 1/2 cup water to start since you can always add more but you can’t take out water from the blender!

2. If you have the Magic Bullet (like me!) or any mini blender, you can follow these instructions. Put all the ingredients into your tall cup in the order above with spinach at the bottom, I’ve found it easiest for the Magic Bullet to blend if I add the ingredients in these layers. And then I fill up the cup with water until about 1 cm from the top. Blend and enjoy!

Please feel free to add or subtract and perfect your own smoothie! Get your sexy smoothie on! :D

Disclaimer: Please note that there is a whole clove of garlic in this recipe. Just make sure to brush your teeth after drinking the smoothie!

Leave a Reply

